What Does Parko Need to Win His First World Tittle?

Billabong surfer Joel 'PARKO', Parkinson has held the ratings lead for the majority of the year and is now looking for his best chance to secure a Title after famously missing out in previous years due to freakish, ill- timed injuries.

Mick Fanning is an outside possibility, but it’s Parko and Slater who are the real contenders. Parko’s form in Hawaii has been extraordinary the past few years, he’s won the Triple Crown three times and made the final at Billabong Pipeline Masters last year.

But Slater is Slater, the best ever. Basically, Parko needs to finish at least two rounds ahead of Slater to seal the deal. Or win the event outright.

Due to the altered format for the Billabong Pipe Masters, all three surfers will automatically be seeded into Round 3 of competition and finish no worse than Equal 13th (1750 points).

ASP WCT surfers’ year-end rankings are based off their top eight finishes from the 10 ASP WCT events in 2012.

As Parkinson is the current rankings leader on the ASP WCT, the following ASP World Title scenarios will be based on his potential finishes at Pipeline.



Show your support for Parko as he chases his first ASP World Title by hashtagging all your online posts with #goparko . Photo's of your local surf break, your board, your goodtimes or shots of the man himself...Nothing’s off limits. Let's do this! #goparko @joelparko


Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast: Taj Burrow (AUS)
Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach: Mick Fanning (AUS)
Billabong Rio Pro: John John Florence (HAW)
Volcom Fiji Pro: Kelly Slater (USA)
Billabong Pro Tahiti: Mick Fanning (AUS)
Hurley Pro at Trestles: Kelly Slater (USA)
Quiksilver Pro France: Kelly Slater (USA)
Rip Curl Pro Portugal: Julian Wilson (AUS)
O’Neill Coldwater Classic: Taj Burrow (AUS)
Billabong Pipe Masters: TBD

> View Full ASP World Title Possibilities
> Go to Billabong Pipeline Masters

There are currently no comments.
Your Name
Your Email

500 characters left
Please be sure to enter your name and email before submitting this comment.
Please also refer to our comments policy.